WHFS Mr. & Mrs Smith

I want to propose that Valentine’s Day is not simply a day of commercialized love. It’s an opportunity to pretend, for one day a year, that our love lives’ are fraught with conflict. It’s a day of “ya know what, let’s pretend this isn’t as difficult as it is.” It’s a moment of “Let’s pretend that the compromises we’ve each made don’t hurt our heart a little.”

Let’s talk about Mr. & Mrs Smith

I wasn’t going to watch this one. I found the movie version to be depressing given the real life relationship and allegations of abuse between Angelina and Pitt. Oops, didn’t mean to gossip. My brother/whfs co-founder, however, talked the Amazon prime series up so I decided to watch it on my day off from crushing it at work (only 1 major failure so far).

I’m going to go ahead and spoil it:

They fall in love,

It’s funkin romantic as funk.

Other than that the acting is awesome

The script deserves to be center stage. The character development and build up of their relationship is gorgeously played.

The decor is fantastic.

And the music, oh the music.

I don’t remember the exact episode but when

Short and Sweet by Brittany Howard

Plays thru the scene. Chef’s kiss. Beautifully done, David Fleming & friends. Here’s an interview with the composer: comingsoon.net/tv/features/1511996-interview-mr-and-mrs-smith-composer-david-fleming?amp

We could over analyze this show and say how it’s a metaphor for the challenges relationships present us. I have a headache from a drink of this mediocre whiskey so I don’t feel like doing that right now…I’ve got whiskey dick for film analysis right now.

If we’re not overthinking it, this is a fun story of ‘what if.’ What if a couple of mediocre spies, were trying to make their work lie work. Or, a funnier way to think about this, “what if a work husband/wife tried to make it go of it.”

If you want to overthink this show, feel free. It’d probably still be healthier than overthinking the shite that doesn’t matter in your own relationship. But like in the episode when they’re following that couple around the ski slope. Are you observing their relationship or are you actually observing your own?

Anyway thanks for reading with your eyes, ears, and hands. Happy V Day and as always,

Raise hell peacefully,

Anne Arkhane

Of course this post wouldn’t be complete without a beverage of choice. This time around we’re going with:

The Famous Grouse blended scotch whisky

It’s not great, but it’s not good either,

It’s Perfect for the times we’re living in.

If you didn’t already know, grouse have an extraordinary mating ritual. In 2011, I had an opportunity in Colorado to go with a Conservation group to hike Black Mountain at 3 am to see the sage grouse mate. Some ppl go to strip clubs some of us go into nature, but we all seem to love Birds. Whatever you’re into I recommend mixing this disaster of a whisky with Waterloo blackberry lemonade and blueberry apple cider vinegar (found at h-mart). It makes a cocktail as palatably sour and healthy as your marriages. feel free to forgo the whisky and save your moneys for something else, like a couple’s message or lap dance.

Bonus—standup about birds and strip clubs: Krystyna Hutchinson presents her first full length comedy special “Good Girl Barbara”.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. firstofkinhotmailcom says:

    I didn’t watch Mr and Mrs Smith. But I respect the fact that you were apprehensive about watching it. All of it’s done now and I’m just another used condom. Look Emily all of this shit was real and apart from Rebecca Fielding, there was no-one there. You were half decent, but don’t throw your life away thinking about ‘what ifs’ and drinking all the time, there was an incredible amount of shit to deal with and the planet was pretty much fucked. I wasn’t the actual fuck-head in the situation, I just didn’t waste my youth. I worked through all of it and it’s all okay now. I had to do it alone, but I’m kind of bored and lonely now. There you go class of 2008/2009. Our shit got worked through and we were represented.

    Like

  2. firstofkinhotmailcom says:

    Look Emily. Do you remember that time in Chang Rai when they told us about the WW2 stuff, the Australian forces and how Tschampion and his men or something like that. And I put up my hand saying ‘that’s me’ because I was hung-over and not really paying attention properly. Look, I am actually a descendent and blood relative of that man. You probably wished that the real Tschampion would beat me up or something. Look, something like that did happen. Whenever I was too angry and a situation would occur where I was upset. Instead of taking the anger out on people around me. I’d hit myself in the head and take out the anger on myself instead of inflicting damage on the other person. The testosterone would just throw me into a rage at points and that’s what would happen. And I would contain it so I didn’t end up in prison or something like that. It is kind of strange, but I’ve been helping out with all the current shit too. It might be difficult for you to accept at this point. But you have already met me. We didn’t hook up at the time because you said you had a boyfriend. But I didn’t mind you as a person. Please accept others for who they are and get rid of the notion that we’re all infallible. We do what we can, while we can and that’s about all there is to it.

    Like

  3. firstofkinhotmailcom says:

    Look, I know what you’re thinking. It’s not that we’re that great necessarily or you’re that great. But you’re a lot better and were kinder than most people. Thank you for the screwtape letters. I read it on the flight back home. You’re welcome to visit. If you did, I’d set you up at my mother’s place for the duration of the stay. You wouldn’t have to stay with me. But it would be nice to actually see you again. We’re all older and have done our thing. One of my brothers lives in New York now. Both of my brothers have kids and I’m just bored most of the time, surviving, but still chipping in with what I can.

    Like

Leave a comment